When To Burn Logo

or Select a District

Current Burn Status

The Utah Department of Environment Quality issues mandatory no burn actions when fine particulate pollution builds up to unhealthy levels during winter inversions. While these noburn days are typically called during the winter inversion season of November 1st to March 1st, they may be called anytime throughout the year. State regulations prohibit residents from burning wood or coal on no burn days.

Regulations cover Box Elder, Cache, Davis, Salt Lake, Tooele, Utah, and Weber Counties and include fireplaces and wood, pellet, and coal burning stoves.

Prohibited on No Burn Days

  • Wood Fireplaces
  • Wood Stoves (both EPA certified and non-certified)
  • Pellet Stoves
  • Coal Burning Stoves

Acceptable on No Burn Days

  • Natural Gas Appliances and Propane Stoves

Action Levels

Burn Action Level
  • Unrestricted Action: Wood, pellet and coal burning stoves and fireplaces may be used but please use them in a proper manner to reduce smoke emissions.
  • Voluntary Action: Voluntarily do not use wood, pellet, coal burning stoves or fireplaces.
  • Mandatory Action: Wood, pellet and coal burning stoves or fireplaces are prohibited.

The three action levels affect all residents living in the following areas:

  • All regions of Salt Lake and Davis counties.
  • All portions of the Cache Valley.
  • All regions in Weber and Utah counties west of the Wasatch mountain range.
  • In Box Elder County, from the Wasatch mountain range west to the Promontory mountain range and south of Portage.
  • In Tooele County, from the northernmost part of the Oquirrh mountain range to the northern most part of the Stansbury mountain range and north of Route 199.